Diaspora Film Festival (DFF) provides Toronto audiences with an opportunity to experience the cultural mosaic of the present world through the medium of cinema.

“Diaspora” refers to the dispersion and migration of a people from their homeland and the communities they form in new lands.

The DFF explores themes of migration, immigration, and cultural diversity by showcasing works of both established and emerging filmmakers. The festival pays special attention to independent Canadian filmmakers from ethnic minorities.

The DFF is a charitable not-for-profit organization founded in 2001 to foster understanding and discussion among different people. By giving voice to “Others” we hope to diminish stereotypes and prejudice and promote dialogue over conflict.

Director: Shahram Tabe
Co-director: Paul de Silva
Board of Directors:

  • Carl Bruntland
  • Paul de Silva
  • Arsinee Khanjian
  • Caroline Kirshner
Advisory Board:

  • Karin Achtelstetter
  • Anne Bayin
  • Laura Bisaillon
  • Dimitri Eipides
  • Aisha Jamal
  • Nima Naghibi
  • Babak Salari

Chair, Selection Committee: Paul de Silva
Selection Committee: Aisha Jamal, Ali Kamran, Gol Barg, Laura Bissaillon, Mahsa Mortazavi, Mariana Osuna Perez, Dawit Assier
Sponsorship: Guy Hoskins
Art Design: Ali Kamran, Poopak Rad
Outreach: Jess Stewart-Lee, Marian Pitters
Web Master: Ali Jafarpour
Web Design: Faisal Anwar
Publicity: Lina Dhingra, Karma PRO Entertainment Group
Public Relation: Caroline Kirshner
Film Traffic: Nilou Afshar
Interns: Eda Ataergin, Elizabeth Zeppa, Jillian Barreca, Jordana Green, Roxanne Fernandez